Why do we use GRAMMAR

October 17th, 2010 by Jashodhara Purkayastha

Grammar is the theory of a language. Without it a language cannot function properly. Grammar teaches the arrangement of words by following certain rules. We teach the children to follow certain traffic rules on the roads; similarly we have to follow certain rules to beautify the languages.
Grammar is used to develop the understanding of usage of different words, sentences, phrases, etc. The learner develops mental abilities of reasoning and observation. It cultivates a scientific attitude towards languages. Grammar develops insight into the language and its structure. Learners absorb correct sentence patterns without having to resort to rote memorization.
Grammar is essential for correct usage and sufficient expression of language. It helps to write a proper sentence. Grammar gives real meaning of the sentence. We have different parts of speech. With the help of parts of speech ,our conversation is expressive. By using phrases and idioms, we can beautify the sentences. E.g. ‘Sunny had attended a gracious party merrily during his friend’s birthday and what a great day it was!’
Let’s see this “He reads the Book” and “He read the Book”. The first sentence shows, he regularly reads. The second sentence means, he read for a particular event (past ).
“Moni hasn’t been in the best of health”. This means: Moni is not well.But the use of Idiom has beautified the sentence.
The teacher said, “Healthy Mind in a healthy Body .Could be told, the Mind & Body are related . This phrase gives more Grace to the sentence.
Disadvantages of grammar: Following the rules of grammar are not everyone’s cup of tea. There are many rules in grammar. So it is difficult to remember all the rules and principles.
Lastly I want to end with, that a poem does not require proper grammar when one can express self properly, otherwise languages have to follow certain rules of Grammar.
Language is the dress of thought” [Samuel Johnson]
Spoken Word can’t be retrieved, like ‘a bullet from a gun’ and ‘flower thrown at someone’.
Written Words can fill the waste-paper-basket till perfection.

While teaching Grammar in the College, I thought of writing this article.
The students think, importance of grammar is not useful while writing or speaking.
Language is the Art of Expressing thoughts. Grammar conveys this thought in reality.

Posted in Tips | 2 Comments »

Durga puja

October 12th, 2010 by Jashodhara Purkayastha

सर्व मंगल मांगल्ये, शिवे सर्वाथ साधिके,
शरैन्ये त्रियाम्बके गौरी नारायणी नमःस्तुते

Bengal is bestowed with wealth by nature. Seasons create a multicoloured mixture in our life. In Bengal, all six seasons Grishma (summer ), Barsha (Rainy season ), Shorat ( Early Autumn), Hemanto( Late Autumn ), Sheeth( Winter ) and Basanto(Spring ) can be observed minutely. Durga puja comes in the autumn.
The last day of Pitripaksha is celebrated as Mahalaya. Mahalaya is observed on the Amavasya day or New moon day of Ashwin (September/October). It is the auspicious occasion to invoke the Goddess of supreme power. All are involved to celebrate the nine days of Navratri from the next day of Mahalaya. It is the belief that these nine days the powerful goddess will protect us from all unwanted evils.

Durga puja is the biggest festival of Bengal. It is celebrated in the early autumn. It is the festival of socio-cultural events. Every Bengalee waits for this festival to arrive. There is no rich and poor feeling in the mind of people. All are busy with buying the new clothes for the festival. Children and youth take part in different cultural activities. Mature and old people are interested in dramas and they like to perform different roles.

There are some symbolic custom when wearing the following colours during Navratri. The first days Green symbolizes Growth and Harmony. The second days Grey symolises elegancy. The third days Pink symbolizes Appreciation and Gratitude. The fourth day White symbolisesPurity and Truth. The fifth day Red symbolisesLove and Passion. The sixth days Blue symbolizes Faith and Wisdom. The seventh days Yellow symbolizes Happiness and Joy. The eight days Violet symbolizes Power and Luxury. The ninth days Peacock Green symbolizes Truth and Hope. Bengalees celebrate from Panchami. There is bhog in every pandal. In the evening , there are different cultural programmes.

The nine Navratri colors for 2010 published in local newspapers on October 6, 2010. They are:
1. Pratipada – Oct 8, 2010 (Friday) – Green
2. Dwitiya – Oct 9 (Saturday) – Grey
3. Tritiya – Oct 10 (Sunday) – Pink
4. Chaturthi – Oct 11 (Monday) – White
5. Panchami – Oct 12 (Tuesday) – Red
6. Shasti – Oct 13 (Wednesday) – Blue
7. Saptami – Oct 14 (Thursday) – Yellow
8. Ashtami – Oct 15 (Friday) – Violet
9. Navami – Oct 16 (Saturday) – Peacock Green

During Navaratri, we invoke the energy aspect of God in the form of the universal mother, commonly referred to as “Durga,” which literally means the remover of miseries of life. She is also referred to as “Devi” (goddess) or “Shakti” (energy or power). It is this energy, which helps God to proceed with the work of creation, preservation and destruction. In other words, you can say that God is motionless, absolutely changeless, and the Divine Mother Durga, does everything. Truly speaking, our worship of Shakti re-confirms the scientific theory that energy is imperishable. It cannot be created or destroyed. It is always there.
The prominence of Durga Puja increased gradually during the British Raj in Bengal. After the Hindu reformists resemble Durga with India, she had become an icon for the Indian independence movement. In the first quarter of the 20th century, the tradition of Baroyari or Community Puja was popularised due to this. After independence, Durga Puja became one of the largest celebrated festivals in the whole world.
It is believed that Idol ( Protima) is made from the clay of prostitution’s courtyard. It symbolises that prostitutes save the society from Asura or evils. This symbolizes that evil in society is saved by these women. Durga kathamo (Framework) is made with her four children —Kartik , Ganesh, Saraswati and Lakshmi representing respectively the protector, the initiator of the puja, knowledge and the provider—signifies the complete manifestation of the goddess. Durga is known as the divine spouse of the Lord Shiva.

Posted in Social Issues, Spiritual | 1 Comment »