Piaget Cognitive Development

March 14th, 2008 by Jashodhara Purkayastha

Stages of Cognitive Development. Piaget identified four stages in cognitive development:

  1. Sensorimotor stage (Infancy). In this period (which has 6 stages), intelligence is demonstrated through motor activity without the use of symbols. Knowledge of the world is limited (but developing) because its based on physical interactions / experiences. Children acquire object permanence at about 7 months of age (memory). Physical development (mobility) allows the child to begin developing new intellectual abilities. Some symbollic (language) abilities are developed at the end of this stage.
  2. Pre-operational stage (Toddler and Early Childhood). In this period (which has two substages), intelligence is demonstrated through the use of symbols, language use matures, and memory and imagination are developed, but thinking is done in a nonlogical, nonreversable manner. Egocentric thinking predominates
  3. Concrete operational stage (Elementary and early adolescence). In this stage (characterized by 7 types of conservation: number, length, liquid, mass, weight, area, volume), intelligence is demonstarted through logical and systematic manipulation of symbols related to concrete objects. Operational thinking develops (mental actions that are reversible). Egocentric thought diminishes.
  4. Formal operational stage (Adolescence and adulthood). In this stage, intelligence is demonstrated through the logical use of symbols related to abstract concepts. Early in the period there is a return to egocentric thought. Only 35% of high school graduates in industrialized countries obtain formal operations; many people do not think formally during adulthood.

Graph showing Piagetian Stages

Posted in Psychology | 2 Comments »

2 Responses

  1. nat Says:

    hi… writing a speech for why 16 year olds should have the right to vote (affirmative – for it)

    one of my points is cognitive development however i’m having trouble finding the cognitive development from a 16 to an 18 year old..

    on your website the image would be very helpful if you could show the stages until the age of 24 or something…

    I would really appreciate it if you email me on the on if you have any answers that could help

    a link to a website/s that has the answer would also be good.

    also if you know of a website that says something like there is hardly any cognitive development between the 2 years, that would be very good evidence for proving my point

    anyone who sends an email THANKS SOOOOOOO MUCH for trying to help out!

    Thanks everyone,

  2. jashodhara Says:

    Dear Nat,
    At 16, the Mind is confused (Erickson Theory) and continues till ‘experience’ kills the Cat. Vedanta talks of Five types of humans. If the adolescent age is not guided properly, he becomes ‘Stoneman, Animalman’.
    The politicians influence all, due to least voting age of today and less knowledge of Life, by charisma. During Adulthood love & action is one sided and violent! The decisions taken will be experimental. Even 40 years is less as “We learn till Death”.

    The person to be Elected and Voter should pass an examination set by a Psychiatrist.

Leave a Comment

Mail:   (will not be published)

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.